• Girl Gone Grey

    Girl Gone Grey 04.15.20

    This Sunday will be 20 weeks into my grey hair transition. I haven’t dyed my hair since December 1, 2019. For more info behind my “why”, I have a highlight bubble in my Instagram profile (@smartsncents) called Girl Gone Grey. Quick FAQs answered: I’m 36 years old. I’m allergic to all dye (natural and toxic). I work in a professional setting. I do what I want and I want to embrace the grey! On picture 3, I had no idea what to do with my hands; I’m an amateur iPhone photographer. Dress: Linen Midi Wrap Dress Elbow Sleeve, Ruffle Wrap Dress (in Evergreen) from Found Path

  • Girl Gone Grey

    Girl Gone Grey 02.09.20

    10 weeks into my grey hair journey! 👵🏼 #girlgonegrey I’m more salt & pepper (and more pepper than salt). 🖤 Normally, I would have gone to the salon for a root color touch-up 3x (about $360 worth) in this length of time. Tomorrow, I go in for a haircut and I’m getting bangs! For more info on my journey to grey, I have an Instagram highlights bubble named “Girl Gone Grey” with all the details. More on my “why” and the process/struggle overcoming a societal double-standard in beauty expectations for women, especially in a professional business setting.💚

  • Minimalism,  Organization

    Digital Planning

    Digital planning is a new hobby (and obsession). I’ve been fielding a lot of questions about this new benture, so why not compile an FAQ page. I learned about digital planning and was inspired by @digitallyplanning on Instagram. There is a learning curve. If you want to learn more, I suggest watching all the free Instagram and YouTube videos with the tag #digitalplanning. What iPad do you use? Apple iPad Pro 12.9, but you can use whatever iPad. I also have a @paperlike screen protector. What stylus? Apple Pencil (2nd gen) What app do I need to use for my digital planning? GoodNotes App  ($7.99) Which digital planner do you use? Pixel Planner 3.0 from Holly…

  • Budgeting,  YNAB

    The Monthly Food Budget

    We have 15 days left in the month! Will we stay within our budget? Currently, our monthly food budget is ~$800 for (4) people; Jay doesn’t live with us as he’s 20 years old. This includes grocery shopping, the occasional eating out, vitamins/supplements (basically anything we ingest goes in this budget category, except for beer and my work lunch money; we have separate budget category just for Jesse’s beer, it’s a very touchy/controversial subject in the DFC space along with how much our food budget is). Truthfully, there have been months this year where we’ve spent almost double this budget in a month. Yeah, going over budget happens a lot…

  • Minimalism

    Work Uniform

    [Life Hack] I make decisions all day at work and home. To suffer less decision fatigue, I make my work wardrobe as easy as possible. I made myself a uniform! This year, I purchased (5) black skirt suits and (5) black blouses with lint brush (lint brush not pictured, but lint is 😹). I wear black pumps with cheap, but good, black hosiery. Also, I wash and hang dry the suits (no dry cleaning bill for this gal). I don’t keep up with the work clothes trends as I’d rather spend the money on other things. My uniform has saved me so much time and money!

  • Peloton Referral Code
    Peloton

    Peloton Referral Code

    If you’re in the market for a Peloton Bike or Peloton Tread, please consider using our referral code at checkout (in your cart, when prompted for promo code): QGHZ9T. By using our referral code (QGHZ9T), you receive $100 off in accessories when purchasing a Peloton Bike or Peloton Tread, and we also receive a certificate for Peloton apparel. Win, win! I’m addicted to the community, the instructors, and the quality of the products, classes, apparel, and content. I can’t stop talking about Peloton, thus the reason for this blog! It’s honestly the most fun workouts I’ve ever had. The whole family is involved over here. What are you waiting for? When you’re ready,…

  • Debt Payoff

    We’re Debt Free!

    From left to right: Jay, Eli, me (Kat), Jesse, and Gabby. We are Smart n’ Cents! We live in Las Vegas and we love our city. #VegasStrong Today, we finished paying off $115,956.54 of consumer debt in (3) years on a single income. Our debt consisted of $43k in credit cards, $55k in cars, $12k in 401k loans, $5k in student loans, and about $1k in cell phone leases. Jesse is the stay-at-home dad and I work in marketing for a hotel/casino. Jesse and I have been married for (11) years and for most of our marriage we lived the YOLO (you only live once) Vegas Edition & “keeping up…